Whether you are an experienced musician or totally new to the subject, there are some instruments like the tongue drum that carry our imagination in a quarter of a second ! You have been, like many others before, captivated by the sound of this amazing instrument and want to know more about it before you embark on the adventure? Fasten your seatbelt and follow our guide!

What is a tongue drum?

A tongue drum (also known as the steel tongue drum, hank drum or tank drum) is a percussion instrument in the idiophone family (instruments that create sounds through the vibration of the material itself without requiring strings, membranes, or external resonators).

It is a very melodic percussion instrument and highly appreciated for its relaxing sounds and ease of playing, which does not require any particular technique. Anyone can easily pick one up and start playing, with the number of slats or “tongues” equal to the number of notes it can produce. You can either use mallets or your hands..



To play with a tongue drum you can either use mallets or your hands.

Although its origins date back to ancient times, the tongue drum has come back with a vengeance in the last few years, in particular thanks to the emergence of DIY versions made from propane tanks — one option being cutting off the bottoms of two tanks, welding them together, and cutting out “tongues” of different lengths on one side.

Which tongue drum is made for me?

We can find tongue drums in many tones: major scales, minor, akebono, pentatonic etc ... It is often difficult to make a choice among all these scales because choosing a scale means sacrificing all of the others. That's why the purchase of a tongue drum is always the result of long and deep thought because this instrument will accompany you for many years, just like its scale. Having only one scale means that you will not be able to play anything else during all your musical journey. But rest assured right away, this was before Beat Root changed everything with its tunable tongue drum !

The Beat Root tunable tongue drum

Since 2018, Beat Root has created the first tunable & electro-acoustic tongue drum bringing together 6 ranges in a single tongue drum with an innovative tuning system allowing you to switch from one scale to the other in just few seconds. Choosing only one scale for your tongue drum among all those available in the market is no longer a difficult choice. Also you don't need anymore to resell or buy a new tongue drum to enjoy playing on a new scale. With the tunable tongue drum of Beat Root, no matter when you want to play, you will always have a scale suiting your moment.

What are the differences between a Hang Drum and a Tongue Drum?

Moreover, although the timbre of a tongue drum resembles another percussion instrument, the Hang drum, the manufacturing process differs greatly as the latter is tuned by hammering — Fun fact: One of the names for a tongue drum, “hank drum” comes from combing “tank drum” and “hang drum.” Despite their commonalities, hang drums are much more expensive and thereby less accessible.

Furthermore, unlike the Hang drum or other handpan instruments wherein you have to wait several months before it arrives, Beat Root tongue drums are available for immediate purchase, and delivery takes only a few days. This means you can enjoy it sooner and quickly immerse yourself in creating melodies and songs. Additionally, shipping is free for all of Europe.



Beat Root Tongue Drum Models:




Acoustic Tongue Drum

Acoustic Tongue Drum

Tongue Drum of high quality, matte finish with carbon effect band.
Available in 4 colors and in several scales.

Price 348,00 €
Learn More
Electro-Acoustic Tongue Drum

Electro-Acoustic Tongue Drum

Tongue drum equipped with a microphone and a Jack 6.3mm jack to connect to an amp, sound card, accessories ...

Price 398,00 €
Learn More
Multiscale Tongue Drum

Tunable Tongue Drum

Tunable & Electro-acoustic tongue drum with 6 scales in one single tongue drum, thanks to an easy-to-use tuning system.

Price 448,00 €
Learn More

Que l’on soit musicien expérimenté ou totalement novice en la matière, il existe certains instruments qui transportent notre imaginaire en un quart de seconde et le Tongue Drum fait assurément partie de cette catégorie ! Vous avez été, comme beaucoup d’autres auparavant, captivé par le son de cet étonnant objet et souhaitez en savoir davantage sur celui-ci avant de vous lancer dans l’aventure ? Accrochez-vous et suivez notre guide !

Qu'est ce que le tongue drum ?

Le tongue drum (ou steel tongue drum, hank drum ou encore tank drum) est un instrument de percussion de la famille des Idiophones (dont le son est produit par le matériau de l’instrument lui-même, sans nécessiter de corde, de membrane ou de résonateur externe).

Le tongue drum est un instrument de percussion mélodique très apprécié pour ses sonorités relaxantes et sa prise en main très intuitive ne nécessitant pas de technique particulière. Il permet de jouer des mélodies très facilement, le nombre de lamelles ou “langues” (tongues) définissant le nombre de notes de l’instrument.



Le tongue drum peut être joué à l’aide de mailloches ou directement avec les mains.

L'origine du tongue drum est ancienne mais il revient en force depuis quelques années, notamment grace à l’apparition d’instruments créés de manière artisanale à partir de bouteilles de gaz (tank): les fonds des bouteilles sont découpés et soudés entre eux, puis l’on va “tailler” des langues de différentes longueur sur la partie supérieure de l’instrument afin de définir les notes.

Quel tongue drum est fait pour moi ?

On peut trouver des tongue drums dans de nombreuses tonalités: gammes majeures, mineures, akebono, pentatoniques etc... Il est souvent difficile de faire un choix parmis toutes ces gammes car choisir une gamme c'est au sacrifice de toutes les autres. L'achat d'un tongue drum est toujours le fruit d'une grande réflexion car cet instrument va vous accompagner pendant de nombreuses années, tout comme la gamme qui accompagnera à chaque fois les moments où vous voudrez en jouer. Mais rassurez vous tout de suite, ca c'était avant !

Le tongue drum Multi Gamme de Beat Root

Depuis 2018, Beat Root a crée le premier tongue drum multi gamme du marché réunissant 6 gammes en un seul tongue drum avec un système d'accordage innovant vous permettant de passer de l'une à l'autre en quelques secondes seulement. Choisir une gamme pour votre tongue drum parmi toutes celles disponibles n'est désormais plus un choix difficile. Plus besoin de revendre ou d'acheter un nouveau tongue drum pour apprécier de jouer sur une nouvelle gamme. Avec le tongue drum multi gamme de Beat Root, peu importe le moment où vous voudrez jouer de votre tongue drum, vous aurez toujours une gamme allant avec l'occasion.

Quelle est la différence entre un Tongue Drum et un Hang Drum ?

Les sonorités de ces instruments rappellent également celles d’une autre percussion: le Hang drum, dont le processus de fabrication diffère cependant nettement puisque celui-ci est accordé par martelage. Le terme “Hank drum” vient d’ailleurs d’un mélange entre “Tank drum” et “Hang drum”, mais malgré leurs points communs il est à noter que le prix du Hang drum est très supérieur, le rendant beaucoup moins “démocratique”.

Aussi, contrairement au Hang Drum ou autre Hand Pan où vous devrez attendre de nombreux mois voir une année avant de l'obtenir, les tongue drums Beat Root sont disponibles immédiatement avec des délais de livraison de quelques jours seulement. Vous pourrez alors profiter tout de suite de votre instrument et vous immerger rapidement dans les premières mélodies que vous jouerez. De plus, pour tout achat d'un tongue drum Beat Root en Europe, les frais de port sont offerts.



Les différents modèles de tongue drum Beat Root




Tongue Drum Acoustique

Tongue Drum Acoustique

Tongue Drum de haute qualité, en finition mat avec bande effet carbone.
Existe en 4 couleurs et en plusieurs gammes.

Prix 348,00 €
En savoir plus
Tongue Drum Electro Acoustique

Tongue Drum Electro Acoustique

Tongue drum équipé d’un micro et d’une prise Jack 6.3mm pour le brancher à un ampli, carte son, accessoires...

Prix 398,00 €
En savoir plus
Tongue Drum Multi Gamme

Tongue Drum Multi Gamme

Tongue drum électro-acoustique accordable avec 6 gammes en un seul tongue drum grâce à un système d'accordage très facile à utiliser.

Prix 448,00 €
En savoir plus